20 Comments

We have been nonstop busy since September and it feels like too much after last year of nothing. So Thanksgiving is just going to be the four of us and I am making it super easy by ordering in a protein and just making a bunch of sides.

Expand full comment

We are actually resurrecting 2020 traditions - our favorite in history. Home all day, no stress, and getting to eat exactly what we want. I thought it would feel lonely to continue life this way but instead I'll call it non-toxic 😉

Expand full comment

Unfortunately, we will be staying home again this year. We want to get together with our family, but it is too cold and the rest are not vaccinated and refuse to do so. I really miss my nieces and nephews but we can't take a chance. They also refuse to get tested. I am thankful to spend the day with my mom and sister though. We are bucking tradition and having salmon and filet mignon instead of turkey. I plan to do some laundry, watch the parade and dog show, and then have a wonderful dinner and hopefully zoom with the family. Happy Thanksgiving!

Expand full comment

We don’t have family flying in this year, but my daughter’s boyfriend and his family are coming over, so it’s going to be more than us and my in-laws for the first time since 2016 (my parents moved away in 2017). I used to host for up to 18 people, so having 10 is going to be wonderful! Stressful, but wonderful!

Expand full comment
founding

I serve the same foods every year, for about 20 adults and kids, otherwise someone will be disappointed. There has to be vegan options, fish options, low sodium options, low acid options, picky eater options, kosher options, no cheese, no mushrooms,no pepper, and all nut free. With a turkey, meat, fish, and tofurky entree, there’s a hard boiled egg option. It’s a cooking nightmare!🤪😩

Expand full comment

We're doing Thanksgiving with my parents and my sister's family. However, my other sister's family can't join us because my fully-vaccinated 16 yo niece has COVID. :( She is doing fine but a bummer to miss the family Thanksgiving.

Expand full comment

Having 2 more than last year, so 6 total. usually we have 12-14 but several of my cousins have young children in daycare and one whose fiance refuses to vaccinate. It is hard, my father has dementia and has no understanding of how covid has impacted the world. He thinks that I am keeping our family from him.

Expand full comment

We’ll be doing a low key Thanksgiving day with the same bubble we’ve had over the past year and a half, most everyone is vaccinated (those under 11 got their first doses) and going back to the tradition of watching a Broadway show the day after!

Expand full comment

We planned to be with my whole family (parents, 4 siblings and their spouses and kids, and some of their in-laws) but one of my brother-in-laws refuses to get vaccinated, and insists on being at my parents house. So we’ll be at our house with just out family. We ordered a traditional thanksgiving dinner from a restaurant and will eat it in front of the TV in PJs, probably. I can’t wait!

Expand full comment

We were planning to get together with family, but one of my husband's cousin's kids has covid. They say they are quarantining him, but how well can you quarantine a 9 year old boy when you have four other kids? My kids (8 and 2) are not vaccinated yet, so we decided to stay home. So it will be the four of us plus my mother-in-law. We are having a very non-traditional Thanksgiving. We're having brunch with my MIL and then playing board games. Instead of turkey, we're having lasagna for dinner. As much as I would like to see family again, I'm kind of excited about not having to travel anywhere and having a more relaxed day. Everything gets so busy from now until New Years, so I appreciate any chance to just hang out at home.

Expand full comment

Since the kids aren't fully vaccinated it's just us and the kids. We are planning to have my family, the ones fully vaccinated, over for Christmas since it will be 2 weeks after the kids second shot, Yay! We don't want to risk even a cold right now because it means more tests and missed days from school. Our state is doing great, but our town's COVID cases have tripled from a month ago.

Expand full comment

We are keeping things low key again this year, and who knows, maybe this will become our new tradition? My kids hate traditional thanksgiving food, so its always a struggle to get them to eat at a family thanksgiving dinner. So we're going to make food that everyone in the family loves (ham and mac & cheese) and have a relaxing day at home. We are still being super COVID cautious until our kids vaccinations are fully in effect, so I am anticipating a bigger Christmas get together to officially reunite with the extended family.

Expand full comment

We will be driving up to Sacramento for Thanksgiving. My brother and his wife just purchased a home there and so they will be hosting their first Thanksgiving. I have seen my brother, but I have not seen my sister in law nor my nephews since 2019. I normally bring a side dish but this year I'm buying a fancy dessert. Too lazy to cook. Have a fun and safe Thanksgiving. ❤

Expand full comment