111 Comments
author

I'm going to add three shows that I loved and can't wait to return for a new season: Succession, Ozark, and the Morning Show.

Expand full comment

Queen's Gambit is really good.

Expand full comment

1 - I am super behind on any new shows... Does The Bachelorette count? It's a terrible season, sadly.

2 - The Crown

3 - American's Got Talent

4 - Schitt's Creek

5 - Friends from College FOR SURE!

Expand full comment

1. Mare of EastTown. Hacks was also guide good 2. Good girls 3. The voice, masked singer, survivor and I always watch big brother, even tho I wouldn’t consider it family entertainment. 4. Sons of anarchy or Friday night lights. I sometimes go back and watch certain episodes. 5. I can’t think of one now, but know there have been shows I’ve been irritated that they ended before their time

Expand full comment

1. Atypical on Netflix

2. Grey’s Anatomy

3. We have just gotten into Beat Shazam and we always enjoy America’s Got Talent.

4. Schitt’s Creek & The Office

5. Good Girls I still have to watch the last two episodes so I’m not sure if it ended on a cliffhanger or not but I am bummed that it got canceled!

Expand full comment

Fauda

Handmaid's Tale

We watch movies mainly - any Marvel

Sopranos / The Affair

Ray Donovan

Expand full comment

Bear in mind I watch trash.....

1. "New"...... there's a new season of Virgin River out next week and I will be watching that, but I'm not sure it counts as "best".

2. This is Us. I love it. I will cry when season 6 starts/finishes and it's all done.

3. The Mandalorian. We surprised ourselves with how much we love that show as we like Star Wars but we aren't mad crazy Star Wars fans.

4. Friday Night Lights

5. YES YOU ARE RIGHT HOW COULD THEY END FRIENDS FROM COLLEGE THERE CAN YOU TELL I AM STILL FURIOUS

Expand full comment

Here in Manila, K-dramas (Korean Dramas) have really taken off especially when we went on lockdown and we all buried our sorrows in Netflix (yep, us Filipinos have widened our viewing choices beyond our own local shows and the US shows now too). So if you feel like exploring beyond US shows also and you’d want to consider reading subtitles like most of us do here 😆:

1) Vincenzo; Crash Landing On You

3) I agree with Wandavision! So I’ll write this down also

4) Crash Landing On You

5) none. I guess I’m not a huge series follower, apparently!

If a Korean series may be too much, a movie might be a good start: Parasite!

☺️

Expand full comment

I rarely, if ever, watch tv. But my husband made us sit down as a family (teen boys) and watch Ted Lasso. I absolutely loved it and would highly recommend it. Don’t be turned off that it’s about soccer, it’s so much more than that. And season two starts the end of this month and I can’t wait.

Expand full comment

Currently loving In Treatment. Multiple seasons The Great British Baking Show ( if you haven’t already been enjoying this with Harlow I’ll be very surprised! Favorite of all time Sons of Anarchy, Schitts Creek, Friday Night Lights. Cancelled and I’m sad about it… Billions.

Expand full comment

I love watching cooking shows a d my 6 year old daughter watches with me lol. Love Downton Abbey, Virgin River, Stranger Things, The Ranch. But really I watch kids shows mostly. If you asked for a list of those I could be your biggest help 😂

Expand full comment

1. Hands down - Ted Lasso. My husband and I have watched the series 4 times now and are SO excited season 2 is coming out on the 23rd of this month! I agree with others - this is not a show for young children!

2. Grey’s Anatomy. I’ve been watching since the beginning!

3. Lego Masters

4. Parenthood

5. Brothers & Sisters

Expand full comment

Q1: I'm watching mostly things that I've never seen but have ended

Q2: Handmaids Tale, Ozark, Call the Midwife, The Wilds, Why Women Kill (not gross & slightly funny)

Q3: We don't really watch action

Q4: Queens Gambit, Self Made, Mad Men

Q5: Not really a cliff hanger but Shitt's Creek

Expand full comment
founding

1.Mare of Eastown 2.Kominsky Method 3. ???4.Schmitt’s Creek 5. Emily in Paris?

Expand full comment

1. Ted Lasso

2. Ted Lasso/Stranger Things/Marvelous Mrs Maisel/Ozark

3. Lego Masters (not exactly action but a great family show)

4. Yikes…so hard. But I loved Schitts Creek and The Good Place. Both had good endings

5. Happy Endings, and Life In Pieces (how could they cancel it???)

Expand full comment

1. Unorthodox, The Queen`s Gambit

2. The Crown; Shtisel

3. Survivor, Ninja Warrior

4. Stranger (Korean crime drama), My Mister, Coffee Prince (also Korean dramas on Netflix)

5. Way too many. For example I couldn't`t finish Virgin River. Not my style.

Expand full comment

1. Loki-Best new show that you are currently watching or watched recently

2. Handmaid's Tale, Animal Kingdom, Victoria, The Crown-Fave show with multiple seasons that is still airing new episodes

3. Mandalorian-Best live action show to watch as a family

4. The Americans-Fave all time show, must have satisfying ending to qualify

5. Veronica Mars-Show that you were most pissed got canceled on a cliffhanger

Expand full comment

1) Sweet Tooth. 2)Working Moms 3)Not sure if it counts but i love Waffles and Mochi! 4) Schitts Creek. 5) What If with Renee Zelleweger

Expand full comment
founding

Crash Landing on You. It’s a charming dramedy. My husband who hates subtitles loved this anyway. South Korean fashionista goes paragliding and a storm hurls her into North Korea. You won’t be disappointed.

Expand full comment

I’m in the UK so it’s hard to know what is available where, but my favourite show if all time is The Americans. If you haven’t watched it it’s so so so good.

Expand full comment

1. Peaky Blinders, Lupin, Dave

2. The Politician (on hiatus but new season to come eventually!)

3. The Voice, Masked Singer, Somebody Feed Phil, Sugar Rush, Big Shot, Babysitter’s Club, Mysterious Benedict Society,

4. Gilmore Girls, Schitt’s Creek, How I Met Your Mother

5. ?????

Expand full comment

1) Shrill,

2) The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Ted Lasso, & Baroness Von Sketch

3) Lego Masters, Nailed It

4) The Office, Schitt's Creek, The Good Place

5) Can't think of anything at the moment

Expand full comment
founding

1) Queens Gambit 2) marvelous Mrs Maisel, Handmaids Tale 3)survivor or master chef 4) the office or breaking bad 5) my so called life

Expand full comment

1 -This Is Us. Such a good show.

2. Murdoch Mysteries or Handmaids Tale. MM is a detective show at the turn of the century

In Canada and they are just discovering finger "marks"

and other ways to catch criminals. I love it!

3. The Librarians - good family show

4. Saving Hope It is a hospital show though, so don't eat while watching.

5. The Glades or Longmire.

Expand full comment

1. Handmaid 2. Lucifee 3. Sweet tooth (currently, but not exactly family appropriate) 4. I love Lucy 5. ??

Expand full comment

1) not sure. I liked Mare of Easttown. Them was great but I wouldnt call it "enjoyable" in any form. 2) Lucifer and I love Good Trouble. 3) don't know 4) Justified 5) I don't remember the name but it was about a group of people held hostage during a bank robbery. They teased this big secret something that happened but then got cancelled.

Expand full comment

1. Mare of Easttown, 2. Handmaids Tale, 3. Lego Masters, 4. Good Place, 5. Glow or Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist

Expand full comment

1. The Mysterious Benedict Society or Lego Masters

2. This is Us

3. The Muppet Show (original series)

4. Friday Night Lights

5. Quantum Leap (I know, I'm showing my age)

Expand full comment

1. Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Resident Alien

2. Just ended but I love Shameless, Handmaid's Tale

3. I don't really watch anything like this, but I would have to say Lego masters when we remember to watch it. Baby sitter club?

4. Arrested Development, Weeds

5. Zoey's infinite Playlist, Happy Endings

I have so many options, but I'll keep the list short 😂🤷🏼‍♀️

Expand full comment

1. I’m Sorry (not kid friendly but hilarious for parents)

2. This is Us

3. I’ve got nothing…

4. West Wing or Parenthood

Expand full comment

Wait…Friends from College is cancelled?! BOOOO!!

Expand full comment

1) The United States of Al. The first season just ended on CBS.

2) Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug and Cat Noir. The first 3 seasons are on Netflix along with the Christmas special and the fourth season started airing on Disney Channel a couple weeks ago.

3) Once Upon a Time. It is one of my favorite shows but the dad on Manifest plays Prince Charming so you probably don’t want to watch it. I wasn’t thrilled with how it ended though it should’ve ended with season 6.

4) Star Trek:Voyager. I mostly liked how it ended, no cliffhanger, and didn’t over run like some shows.

5) A lot of shows. Single Parents is the first one that comes to mind then Suburgatory.

Expand full comment
founding

(I realized I leaned heavily into Sci Fi here…)

1. Shadow and Bone. They just got picked up for Season 2. Loved the chemistry and characters!

2. For All Mankind! I just binged season 1 and it was amazing. Also lots of women power (it’s been renewed for season 3 already)

3. Mandalorian. I don’t have kids so family watch is me and parents or siblings lol!

4. Battlestar Galactica. I’ve even rewatched it a couple times

5. Stargate Universe. I know this was over a decade ago, but I still loved that show and was so upset they cancelled it. Especially without even making a TV movie or something to finish it out.

Expand full comment

1) Ted Lasso really was great.

2) also Ted Lasso? and The Mandalorian? I don't watch a ton of TV these days. :)

3) The Mandalorian

4) Avatar: The Last Airbender, Buffy (I liked the ending, even if it really should have ended in season 5, don't @me)

5) FIREFLY

Expand full comment

1. Upload, Russian Doll (both renewed for a second season, yay)

2. Sex Education

3. No clue! Maybe MasterChef Australia?

4. The Office, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Gilmore Girls

5. Friends from College, Forever, Freaks and Geeks (not cliffhanger, but still)

Expand full comment

1) Ted Lasso

2) Rutherford Falls

3) Any marvel show

4) Parks and Recreation

5) Cashmere Mafia , still can't get over that show being a casualty of the writer's strike of 2007!

Expand full comment

1. Best new show that you are currently watching or watched recently: Virgin River

2. Fave show with multiple seasons that is still airing new episodes: Grey's Anatomy, Outlander

3. Best live action show to watch as a family: American Ninja Warrior, Great British Bakeoff, Pottery Throwdown (youtube), Survivor (when it returns), Kim's Convenience (is that live action? IDK), Bad Batch, Mandalorian, Anything Star Wars

4. Fave all time show, must have satisfying ending to qualify: Grace and Frankie

5. Show that you were most pissed got canceled on a cliffhanger: Good Girls

Expand full comment

1. Mythic Quest, Ted Lasso, and Loki.

2. Outlander, The Rookie, Grace and Frankie

3. We love Nailed it! And Wipeout! Nicole Byer is the best. We’ve also been super into all the Muppets shows, the original, the reboot, the new reboot! My boys love the Mandalorian, but it does have lots of guns and stuff.

4. How I Met Your Mother, which I know has a controversial ending, The Office, Friends, Schitts Creek.

5. My So Called Life, I will never forget! Firefly, and Younger. Worst ending ever!

Expand full comment

1. Ted Lasso!

2. For All Mankind (and Ted Lasso!)

3. American Ninja Warrior

4. The West Wing

5. The Enemy Within

Expand full comment

1. Firefly Lane did it for me recently, just one season so far 2. Pen15. So fucking funny 3. Not there yet in my parenting journey 4. Broad City (it’s about New York! Main character Ilana! You gotta watch it!!) 5. UNITED STATES OF TARA. I’m still pissed.

Expand full comment

1) Ginny & Georgia, although we just started Sweet Tooth last night and the first episode was pretty good.

2) The Walking Dead and Fear the Walking Dead

3) I am having a hard time thinking of live action, but my family really enjoyed Camp Cretaceous on Netflix (animated but still worth mentioning)

4) Big Love and Schitts Creek

5) FlashForward...I will never be over that one

Expand full comment

I can't answer your questions 100% accurately but here's hoping you'll lend an ear anyway :)

1. Marcella. (new to me; I was hooked on the first two seasons, it looks like it may jump the shark for the 3rd)

2. After Life - please watch, absolutely beautiful show, season 3 is to come

3. Izzy's Koala World is the best I can think of in terms of live action; if puppets count as live action, Muppets Now on Disney Plus

4. I can't choose just one!

5. Would have said the Mindy Project, but then it got picked up by another network.

Good luck! I watched the first episode of Manifest and could not bear to watch another!

Expand full comment

1) Ted Lasso - it’s really everything everyone told me about it and more. My heart. 💖

2) Killing Eve - well written/well acted, great soundtrack, lady assassins

3) Series of Unfortunate Events - not new but was a big hit in our house

4) Good Place and New Girl - both consistently great shows with a satisfying ending.

5) Sense8 - even though we eventually got a movie to wrap things up, Netflix did initially cancel this amazing show on a huge cliffhanger

Expand full comment

1) KIPO and the Age of the Wonderbeasts

2) Stranger Things or Law and Order SVU (though that may finally be over?)

4) Avatar the Last Airbender or Bones

5) so many. The Society (cancelled), Teenage Bounty Hunters (cancelled), Lovesick — this one wasn’t cancelled. The ending just made me sad. It’s such a good show overall, but the ending felt unfair.

Expand full comment

1. The Rookie ❤️ 3 seasons but still counting as new!

2. NCIS or Greys Anatomy or The Good Fight

3. The Good Place

4. CSI revival in September 🥳

5. Pitch 😭

Expand full comment

1 Starstruck 2 handmaids tale 3 Mighty ducks gamechangers 4 Schitts creek 5 Veronica Mars

Expand full comment

1. Loki

2. Bosch (on Amazon prime)

3. Lego Masters

4. Breaking Bad

5. Pushing Daisies

Expand full comment

1) Virgin River 2) Jack Ryan (Amazon) 3) Modern Family 4) The West Wing/The Americans 4) Friends from College/Nashville (I stopped watching when they killed Rayna)

Expand full comment

1) Hacks

2) The Rookie

3) Anne with an E (I haven’t finished it yet but I think it would be a good family show)

4) New Girl

5) White Collar, it didn’t get cancelled or end on a cliffhanger but it had a super unsatisfying ending

Expand full comment

1) Hacks (watched the whole season twice)

2) Queer Eye

3) Bluey (not live action but the very best animated show for toddlers and their parents ever)

4) Call My Agent

5) Ozark, I don't actually believe it's coming back!

Expand full comment